Love Language – I finally know mine!

by JenJacqs

The blog topic for today is about Love Language. 

What is The Five Love Languages? 

Love Language -

The Five Love Languages is a book by Gary Chapman, Ph.D.  In it are the five ways to express and experience love between romantic partners that the author calls “love languages.”  Gary Chapman is a well-known marriage counselor and director of marriage seminars.  He is an author, speaker, counselor, and has a passion for people in helping them form a lasting relationship.  According to him, the five “love languages” are: words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, physical touch.  Chapman also gives examples from his counseling practice and questions to help determine one’s own love languages.  Well, I couldn’t tell more about the book because honestly, I haven’t read it yet.  But someday, I will. I’ve heard good things from fellow Christians about the book. 

What is My Love Language?

I took a quiz to know what is my love language profile. It is available on their website (check it out!).   There are 4 quizzes that you can choose from – Couples, Teens, Children, and Singles quiz.  It will give a thorough analysis of the emotional communication preference.  There are 30 paired statements.  I chose the statement that best defines the most meaningful to me in my relationship with other people.  After taking the quiz, there’ll be a score on which language are the highest and lowest. 

Note: Don’t rush in taking the quiz.  Just Relax!

I chose the Singles quiz and the highest score that I got is on:

Acts of Service

I got the highest score on this love language – Acts of Service.  Since it’s the highest, it means that this is my primary love language as of this time.  What does this mean?  Acts of Service is doing the things that my loved one would like me to do.  This is how I express my love to others by doing things for them.  

Lowest Score I Got 

The language that I got lowest is Receiving Gifts.  This is the languages that I seldom use to communicate love.  While thinking about this, I pondered that when I was younger, I used to give a lot of gifts to my loved one even to my friends.  Every time I get to see stuff at the mall and reminds me of them, I usually buy that stuff.  But I don’t do that anymore.  It makes me think that maybe life hits me hard that I’ve lost touch of this love language.  Maybe one of the reasons is that I worry if others won’t like my gifts to them or the easiest excuse is, I don’t have enough money.  Whatever the reasons, I need to work on this area because I used to love giving gifts to others.  Well, what I can do for now is hope that I can improve this love language.  

Chapman said that the lower scores I got on the other love languages doesn’t mean that they are insignificant.  So this means that they are important too!  A friend also mentions to me that a love language usually changes from time to time.  I’m just glad that I now know what is my Love Language.  You’ll be surprise to know what is your love language too.  Try it, friends! 

Have you tried the quiz?  Comment your love language below. 


~~ 11th Blogging Challenge  ~~

0 comment

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.